Legion (2017)

legion.jpg

I just finished the first season of Legion, created for FX by Noah Hawley, based on the Marvel Comics character David Haller / Legion and I must say that I now hooked. I had my doubts with the first couple episodes its paltry eight-episode season but I now only have respect for Noah Hawley’s work on this rather difficult Marvel character. The show is praised for its departure from the now all too familiar superhero trope. My initial reservations about the show are due to its rather off-beat humor and quirky sets which I must say takes a couple of episodes to get used to. However, with its questions about the nature of reality and its portrayal of mental illness, the treatment of the show makes perfect sense.

It remains to be seen if the show will succeed in drawing in more viewers for its next season as I am certain that despite the initial hype of the show, may of those who watched the first episodes have not completed the show until its amazing season finale (and enticing mid-credits scene). If you are one of those people, I recommend watching the whole season you won’t be disappointed. If only to see the excellent work that Dan Stevens and Aubrey Plaza deliver on the show.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

